Annual Grants & Awards

Frequently Asked Questions About Annual Grants & Awards

Scholarship Grant


    • Annual Scholarship Grants provide funding to full-time Augsburg faculty to support scholarly endeavors. Individuals can request up to $4,000 to support their work or request one course reassignment to dedicate required time to their proposed project.

For Reference:

Distinguished Contribution Awards

Augsburg annually recognizes faculty that have made exemplary contributions to creating an engaging academic learning environment in one of three categories: Teaching, Scholarship, and Service. All full-time faculty who have been employed at Augsburg for at least three years are eligible for the awards. Additionally adjunct faculty who have taught at Augsburg for at least three years are eligible for a Distinguished Contribution in Teaching Award. For more information on the process and requirements of nominators, please see the individual nomination forms, linked below.

All nominations for 2023-2024 must be submitted no later than midnight on March 17, 2023.

Distinguished Contribution in Teaching

Two awards are given for Teaching — one award for full-time faculty and one award for adjunct faculty. Outstanding teaching encompasses many forms and pedagogies and is not restricted to the classroom. This award recognizes faculty who have active engagement with students, creative approaches to instruction, the ability to challenge students, and an overall passion for teaching. 

Distinguished Contribution in Teaching – Full-Time Faculty Nomination Form

Distinguished Contribution in Teaching – Adjunct Faculty Nomination Form

Distinguished Contribution in Scholarship

One award is given for Scholarship. Excellence in Scholarship comes in many forms of intellectual inquiry and is assessed based on its contribution to the discipline, Augsburg University, and the community. 

Distinguished Contribution in Scholarship Nomination Form

Distinguished Contribution in Service

One award is given for Service. Excellence in Service can take many forms, but should have a substantial impact on the University, community, or discipline. Service that impact the lives of students through supportive, thoughtful, and comprehensive mentoring and advising that go beyond the normal expectations of guiding students are also eligible for this award.  

Distinguished Contribution in Service Nomination Form

Anti-Racist Pedagogy Workshop Grant

The ARP Workshop Grant is offered to encourage full-time faculty to develop their knowledge and skills in evidence-based, inclusive, anti-racist pedagogy. This workshop was developed using four components of Anti-Racist Pedagogy as defined by Kyoko Kishimoto (2016): (1) faculty’s critical self-reflection of their social position, (2) course content, (3) anti-racist approach to teaching, and (4) anti-racist organizing for social change.  Augsburg has a long-standing commitment to addressing the first component listed above via annual Anti-Racist training and maintaining good standing in the Diversity and Inclusion Certificate Program. This ARP workshop has been designed to build on this personal work and provide practical guidance for moving into the second and third steps. To demonstrate application of the principles of Anti-Racist course design, participants will be asked to produce a final product of their choosing that shows incorporation of Anti-Racist Pedagogy in a course they teach or plan to teach. 

  • When: Thu May 4; Fri May 5; 9am-Noon both days
  • Where: Augsburg University Campus
  • Who: All full-time Augsburg faculty members are eligible to apply for one of the 8 seats in the workshop. Those accepted into the ARP Workshop will receive a $500 stipend.
  • How: Anti-Racist Pedagogy Grant Application

Provost’s Internationalization Travel Grant