About the University Council

The University Council, formed in 2016 after a multi-year exploration of shared governance practices at Augsburg, leads Augsburg’s internal deliberation of university-wide decisions, taking up—as advisory to the President—institutional considerations beyond the scope of faculty governance or any particular administrative unit.

The Council is chaired by the President and includes 15 additional leaders, elected or appointed, representing the faculty, staff, students and administration of Augsburg. The Council meets monthly and in retreat each summer and welcomes ideas, proposals, and recommendations submitted for consideration directly to UC, or—when appropriate—through one of UC’s standing subcommittees (see menu).

Contact: Leif Anderson, staff to the University Council, andersol@augsburg.edu or 612-330-1497

Documents/Resources (Augsburg login required):

8/27/2020 Agenda | 8/27/2020 Summary | 9/28/2020 Agenda | 9/28/2020 Summary | 10/26/2020 Agenda | 10/26/2020 Summary | 11/23/2020 Agenda | 11/23/2020 Summary |12/14/2020 Agenda | 12/14/2020 Summary | 1/25/2021 Agenda | 1/25/2021 Summary | Agenda 2/22/2021 | Summary 2/22/2021 | Agenda 3/29/2021 | Summary 3/29/2021 |  Agenda 4/19/2021 | Summary 4/19/2021 | Agenda 5/17/2021 | Summary 5/17/2021 | Agenda 6/23/2021 | Summary 6/23/2021 | Agenda 10/4/2021

The University Council:

  • Paul Pribbenow, President, ex-officio to UC
  • Leif Anderson, Vice President & Chief Strategy Officer, Staff to University Council
  • Margit Berman, Program Director Clinical Psychology (PsyD) Program, elected by the faculty in 2021
  • Catherine Bishop, Assistant Provost for Student Success, appointed by the President for 2019-20
  • Hafsa Abdi, Student representative, elected by student government for 2021-22
  • Monica Devers, Dean of Graduate and Professional Studies, appointed by the President for 2019-20
  • Andrew Aoki, Faculty President and Professor of Political Science, ex-officio to UC
  • Rebecca John, Vice President of Operations, ex-officio to UC
  • Karen Kaivola, Provost & Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Student Affairs, ex-officio to UC
  • Bibiana Koh, Associate Professor, Social Work, elected by the faculty in 2018
  • Marc McIntosh, Associate Professor, Business Administration, elected by the faculty in 2020
  • Anzal Sahal, Student representative, elected by student government for 2021-22
  • Joanne Reeck, Vice President for Equity and Inclusion, appointed by the President for 2019-20
  • Uriah Ward, Financial Aid Counselor, elected by the staff in 2020-21 to a two-year term
  • Jeff Swenson, Athletic Director, appointed by Staff Senate in 2016-17 to a four-year term
  • Joe Underhill, Associate Professor, Political Science, elected by the faculty in 2020