Space Use Planning Subcommittee

About the Subcommittee

The University Council Space Use Planning Subcommittee is a subcommittee of the University Council Design Committee. The space subcommittee provides guidance to the President, the administration, and University Council on issues of campus space use and designation. The subcommittee:

  • reviews all requests for new space and changes in space use, working to ensure that all groups using the intended space and all resource needs are considered before space changes move forward.
  • plays a lead role in developing recommendations for department moves into vacated spaces following the addition of the Hagfors Center. Given that these moves require capital investments, the subcommittee develops a proposed set of moves for each fiscal year, which are subject to approval by the President’s Office and require funding in the budget cycle for that fiscal year.

Process for Space Use & Planning Considerations

  • Confirm recommendation with appropriate division leader
  • Confirm project scope, cost, funding, and timeline
  • Identify any additional displacement/implications that need to be addressed (including costs)
  • Review financial implications with CFO regarding capital investment and, if applicable, use of unrestricted funds

committee Membership

  • Pollei Buux Ali, student representative
  • Sarah Cash-Darvell, director of university events
  • Mary Hollerich, library director
  • Chris Houltberg, assistant professor of art and design, director of graphic design
  • Marah Jacobson, assistant provost for academic administration
  • Rebecca John (chair), vice president of marketing and communication, instructor
  • Mel Lee, assistant athletic director, assistant softball coach, instructor
  • Jim Orchard, director, facilities management
  • Matt Schornstein, associate director, information technology systems
  • Leon Van Eck, instructor of physician assistant program

2022-2023 meetings

October 27, 3:30 p.m. (Riverside Room)
November 17, 3:15 p.m. (Lindell 301)
January 12, noon (Sverdrup 208)
February 9, 2:30 p.m. (Oren 103)
March 9, noon (Oren 103)
April 13, noon (Oren 103)
May 11, noon (Oren 103)